Skip to main content

CVNM Honors Sen. Cisco McSorley for his Longstanding Conservation Leadership

By January 25, 2016November 29th, 2022Legislature, Press Releases

(Santa Fe, NM)— Conservation Voters New Mexico (CVNM) will present Senator Cisco McSorley with the 2016 Luminaria Award for his bold leadership in protecting New Mexico’s air, land, water and healthy communities at CVNM’s 10th annual legislative reception on Jan. 27. CVNM’s Annual Legislative Reception is a dynamic gathering of policymakers, business leaders and community members, and will showcase CVNM’s 2016 legislative priorities, available online at
“Senator McSorley’s consistent support of environmental legislation has been matched only by his passion for the environmental issues that he champions. It is a distinct honor to recognize him for his commitment to representing his constituent’s conservation values,” said Ben Shelton, CVNM Legislative Director.
Sen. McSorley has demonstrated strong leadership and an unwavering commitment to protecting our land, air, water and the health of New Mexico’s communities through the New Mexico Legislature since 1984. In the 11 years since CVNM began scoring legislators’ conservation performance, Senator McSorley has earned an outstanding 99% lifetime score in CVNM’s Conservation Scorecard. The Scorecard provides objective, non-partisan information about the conservation voting records of all members of the legislature.
“Receiving CVNM’s Luminaria Award is an honor. Ensuring that our air, land and water are protected for our families and future generations are the keys to providing a healthy future for New Mexico,” Sen. Cisco McSorley said. “We work for the best future when we put people over profits, and I have been proud to work alongside CVNM in this effort.”
Over the years, he has championed issues such as the New Mexico Mining Act, industrial hemp development and expanding legal access to environmental enforcement laws.
Past Luminaria Award Honorees
2015: House Democratic Leader Brian Egolf
2014: Senator Peter Wirth
2013: Representative Mimi Stewart
2012: Senate Majority Leader Michael Sanchez
2011: Auditor Hector Balderas
2010: Mark Fesmire, Director of Oil Conservation Division
2009: Speaker of the House Ben Lujan & Senator Cisco McSorley
2008: Lt. Governor Diane Denish
2007: Governor Bill Richardson
CVNM is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that is connecting the people of New Mexico to their political power to protect our air, land, and water for a healthy Land of Enchantment. We do this by mobilizing voters, helping candidates win elections, holding elected officials accountable, and advancing responsible public policies.
Contact: Liliana Castillo, 505.992.8683 or