Skip to main content

Santa Fe, N.M. – Conservation Voters New Mexico (CVNM) will present State Senator Carrie Hamblen (SD-38, Doña Ana) with its 2024 Luminaria Award at CVNM’s 15th annual Legislative Reception on January 30th. CVNM’s Legislative Reception is a dynamic gathering of policymakers, business leaders and community members. The program will showcase CVNM’s 2024 legislative priorities. This marks the first year since 2020 that CVNM will hold its legislative session gathering due to the COVID-19 pandemic.  

“Senator Hamblen is a steadfast champion for New Mexico’s environment and communities, and we are thrilled to honor her with this award,” said Demis Foster, CVNM Chief Executive Officer. “Her tireless work at the Legislature to protect our air, land, and water, and her unwavering commitment to equity and justice for all New Mexicans, is a testament to her dedication. We applaud her for leading on climate and social justice issues and spearheading the movement to make our policy process more ethical and accessible.”

Senator Hamblen has been a dedicated advocate for rural, frontline, and LGBTQ+ communities and sponsored numerous bills to aid local business and sustainability efforts. 

These efforts have included the Low Income Solar Act, the Local Choice Energy Act, Expansion of the Human Rights Act, Biodiesel Tax Credits, and more. She also co-sponsored SB 72 – Create Wildlife Corridors Fund, which created a fund to protect wildlife ecosystems and migration corridors. SB 72 was passed into law last year. 

“I am deeply honored to receive this award from CVNM,” said Senator Carrie Hamblen (SD-38). “I believe that protecting our environment, our community health, and our state’s diversity is one of the most important things we as elected leaders can do. I am committed to continuing to lead on policy that addresses climate change, protects our waters and lands, and centers the voices of those most impacted. I believe in the power of civic engagement, and hope that my efforts to amplify equity in our policy process leads to a more robust democracy.”

Senator Hamblen earned a 100% lifetime score in CVNM’s annual Conservation Scorecard. The Scorecard provides objective, non-partisan information about the conservation voting records of all members of the legislature. 

Past Luminaria Award Honorees

2022: Secretary of State Maggie Toulouse Oliver

2020: Representative Georgene Louis 

2019: Representative Patricia Roybal Caballero

2018: Senator Jeff Steinborn

2017: Representative Gail Chasey

2016: Senator Cisco McSorley

2015: Representative Brian Egolf

2014: Senator Peter Wirth

2013: Representative Mimi Stewart

2012: Senate Majority Leader Michael Sanchez

2011: Auditor Hector Balderas

2010: Mark Fesmire, Director of Oil Conservation Division

2009: Speaker of the House Ben Lujan & Senator Cisco McSorley

2008: Lt. Governor Diane Denish

2007: Governor Bill Richardson