Skip to main content

Conservation Voters New Mexico Honors Representative Georgene Louis At 14th Annual Legislative Reception

By January 28, 2020Legislature

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                       

Contact: Molly Taylor, 505-554-4115 or

Santa Fe, N.M. — Conservation Voters New Mexico (CVNM) will present State Representative Georgene Louis (HD 13, Bernalillo) with the 2020 Luminaria Award at CVNM’s 14th annual Legislative Reception on January 29th. CVNM’s annual Legislative Reception is a dynamic gathering of policymakers, business leaders and community members. The program will showcase CVNM’s 2020 legislative priorities.

“Rep. Georgene Louis has gone above and beyond to represent her community and protect the health of all New Mexicans.” says Demis Foster, CVNM Executive Director. “We applaud Rep. Louis for her strong and demonstrated commitment to conservation values and placing the people of New Mexico at the center of the decision-making process.”

During Rep. Louis’ time in the legislature, she has led efforts to address uranium pollution, protect cultural sites, call for greater government transparency, and advocate for community health. She has also been an outspoken advocate for renewable energy, addressing climate change and protecting wildlife. She has also sponsored legislation to enable the state to pursue funds from mining companies responsible for polluting New Mexico’s air, land and water.

“I am honored to receive this recognition from Conservation Voters New Mexico,” stated Rep. Georgene Louis. “I firmly believe that all New Mexicans should have clean air to breathe, clean water to drink, and healthy communities for our present and future generations. Growing up on the Acoma reservation, it was instilled in me to respect and care for our Mother Earth—so I will always strive to put decisions that protect those values at the center of my work as a legislator.”

Rep. Georgene Louis earned a 97% Lifetime score in CVNM’s annual Conservation Scorecard. The Scorecard provides objective, non-partisan information about the conservation voting records of all members of the legislature.

If you are a reporter who is interested in attending CVNM’s Legislative Reception, please contact Molly Taylor or to RSVP.

Past Luminaria Award Honorees

2019: Representative Patricia Roybal Caballero

2018: Senator Jeff Steinborn

2017: Representative Gail Chasey

2016: Senator Cisco McSorley

2015: House Democratic Leader Brian Egolf

2014: Senator Peter Wirth

2013: Representative Mimi Stewart

2012: Senate Majority Leader Michael Sanchez

2011: Auditor Hector Balderas

2010: Mark Fesmire, Director of Oil Conservation Division

2009: Speaker of the House Ben Lujan & Senator Cisco McSorley

2008: Lt. Governor Diane Denish

2007: Governor Bill Richardson

CVNM is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that connects the people of New Mexico to their political power to protect our air, land and water for a healthy Land of Enchantment. We do this by mobilizing voters, helping candidates win elections, holding elected officials accountable and advancing responsible public policies.