Skip to main content

Conservation Voters New Mexico Endorses Pro-Conservation and Pro-Voting Rights Candidates for General Election

By August 12, 2014November 29th, 2022Campaigns & Elections, Press Releases

(Santa Fe, NM) – Conservation Voters New Mexico (CVNM) continues its efforts to build a strong political voice for air, land, and water by endorsing pro-conservation candidates who will work to protect New Mexico’s families and communities. CVNM has endorsed a slate of 23 New Mexicans in statewide and legislative races for the November 4, 2014 general election.
“There is no doubt that New Mexican voters support protection of our air, land and water for future generations and we’re proud to endorse candidates who will represent the conservation values of our people,” says Demis Foster, CVNM Executive Director. “When it comes to protecting our Land of Enchantment, every vote counts – whether at the ballot box or in the Roundhouse. We are honored to endorse New Mexicans who will protect our health, democracy and the civic process.”
CVNM engages in a thorough endorsement process and endorses candidates based on their conservation records and responses to a questionnaire on topics including environmental health, quality of life, energy, water, land use, transportation, wildlife and wilderness.
CVNM’s endorsements for New Mexico’s general election* are as follows:
Governor: Attorney General Gary King
Secretary of State: Maggie Toulouse Oliver
HD 5: Doreen Johnson (McKinley & San Juan)
HD 7: Teresa Smith de Cherif (Valencia)
HD 8: Frank Otero (Valencia)
HD 10: Andrés Romero (Bernalillo)
HD 14: Rep. Miguel Garcia (Bernalillo)
HD 15: Rep. Emily Kane (Bernalillo)
HD 20: Josh Anderson (Bernalillo)
HD 23: Catherine Begaye (Bernalillo & Sandoval)
HD 24: Rep. Elizabeth Thomson (Bernalillo)
HD 25: Rep. Christine Trujillo (Bernalillo)
HD 26: Rep. Georgene Louis (Bernalillo)
HD 30: Robert Coffey (Bernalillo)
HD 33: Rep. Bill McCamley (Dona Ana)
HD 35: Rep. Jeff Steinborn (Dona Ana)
HD 36: Rep. Phillip Archuleta (Dona Ana)
HD 37: Joanne Ferrary (Dona Ana)
HD 38: Terry Fortenberry (Grant, Hidalgo & Sierra)
HD 43: Rep. Stephanie Garcia Richard (Los Alamos Rio Arriba, Sandoval & Santa Fe)
HD 50: Matthew McQueen (Bernalillo, Santa Fe, Torrance & Valencia)
HD 57: Donna Tillman (Sandoval)
HD 60: Linda Sanchez Allison (Sandoval)
*CVNM does not endorse in uncontested races. For more information on our endorsement process, please visit
CVNM is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization connecting the people of New Mexico to their political power to protect our air, land, and water for a healthy Land of Enchantment. CVNM does this by mobilizing voters, winning elections, holding elected officials accountable, and advancing responsible public policies.