Skip to main content

State Representative Georgene Louis Honored at CVNM 2020 Legislative Reception

By: Roberto Aponte, Deputy Director of Operations

In January, nearly 150 allies, decision-makers and conservation voters joined us in Santa Fe for our 14th Annual Legislative Reception. CVNM’s

CVNM Education Fund board member Theresa Pasqual and CVNM Executive Director Demis Foster stand with Luminaria Awardee Georgene Louis at the 2020 CVNM Legislative Reception. Photo by Lena Stanley Photography

Annual Legislative Reception is a dynamic gathering of policymakers, business leaders, and community members that showcases our annual legislative priorities. This year, we presented State Representative Georgene Louis (HD 13, Bernalillo) with the 2020 Luminaria Award, our annual award that recognizes pro-conservation champions in the legislature.

During Rep. Louis’ time in the legislature, she has led efforts to address uranium pollution, protect cultural sites, demand greater government transparency, and advocate for community health. She has also been an outspoken advocate for expanding renewable energy, addressing climate change and protecting wildlife. She has sponsored legislation to enable the state to pursue funds from mining companies responsible for polluting New Mexico’s air, land, and water.

Since she was elected, Rep. Georgene Louis has earned a 97% lifetime scorein CVNM’s annual Conservation Scorecard. We applaud Rep. Louis for her strong and demonstrated commitment to conservation values and placing the people of New Mexico at the center of the decision-making process.

We also want to thank the sponsors of our Legislative Reception who helped to make this event possible:

Benefactors: Sallie Bingham**, Marcia & George De Garmo, Mary Laraia & Andrew Mooney*, Anthony & Kay Marks

Leaders: Peter & Honey Chapin, Chris Ford

Champions: Charmay Allred, Environmental Defense Action Fund, Trish Foschi, Polly O’Brien, Western Resource Advocates

Heroes: Albuquerque City Councilor Pat Davis, Anonymous, Audubon New Mexico, Bouchard Gold Communications, Defenders of Wildlife, Richard Ellenberg & Margaret Wood, Arnold & Sandra Farley, Freeform Associates, Gary & Kirsten Oakley, Oil & Gas Accountability Project, Dennis & Trudy O’Toole, NM Wilderness Alliance, Charles de Saillan

Friends: Amigos Bravos, Jean Anderson, Sandy Buffett, Ken & Jane Cole, Rob Dickson, Environment New Mexico, Gila Conservation Coalition*, Meg Meltz, Jean & Peter Ossorio, Sally Rodgers, Raymond Sanchez, Don Schreiber, Senator Mimi Stewart, Mayor Alan Webber, Nancy Wirth

*Contributions made to CVNM Education Fund

**Contributions made to CVNM Action Fund